

Town Park Board Special Meeting

Wednesday, January 17, 2024 - 7:00 PM Town Hall/Virtual 4030 95th Ave NE. Yarrow Point, WA. 98004

Park Board Chairperson: Krista Fleming

Members: Amy Pellegrini, Dicker Cahill, Carolyn Whittlesey, Robert Afzal, Nancy Daltas

Mayor: Katy Kinney Harris

Town Attorney: Emily Romanenko Clerk-Treasurer: Bonnie Ritter Deputy Clerk: Austen Wilcox

Meeting Participation

Members of the public may participate in person at Town Hall or by phone/online. Town Hall has limited seating available, up to 15 public members. Individuals who call in remotely who wish to speak live should register their request with the Deputy Clerk at 425-454-6994 or email depclerk@yarrowpointwa.gov and leave a message before 4:30 PM on the day of the Park Board meeting. Wait for the Deputy Clerk to call on you before making your comment. If you dial in via telephone, please unmute yourself by dialing *6 when it is your turn to speak. Speakers will be allotted 3 minutes for comments. Please state your name (and address if you wish.) You will be asked to stop when you reach the 3-minute limit.

Join on computer, mobile app, or phone

1-253-205-0468

Meeting ID: 871 4653 2034#

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87146532034

1. CALL TO ORDER: Park Board Chairperson, Krista Fleming

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

3. <u>ROLL CALL:</u> Park Board Members, Amy Pellegrini, Dicker Cahill, Carolyn Whittlesey, Robert Afzal, Nancy Daltas

4. APPROVAL OF/AMENDMENTS TO AGENDA

5. STAFF REPORTS

6. APPEARANCES/PUBLIC COMMENT

Members of the public may speak concerning items that either are or are not on the agenda. The Park Board takes these matters under advisement. Please state your name (and address if you wish) and limit comments to 3 minutes. If you call in via telephone, please unmute yourself by dialing *6 when it is your turn to speak. Comments via email may be submitted to depclerk@yarrowpointwa.gov or regular mail to: Town of Yarrow Point, 4030 95th Ave NE, Yarrow Point, WA 98004.

7. MINUTES

December 11, 2023 Special Park Board Meeting

8. REGULAR BUSINESS

- 8.1 Welcome New Park Board Members
- 8.2 Surface for Sally's Alley Driveway Grass/Pro Lite Grid
- 8.3 East Side Sally's Alley Design Discussion
- 8.4 Town Entry Project Discussion
- 8.5 Dedication Options (benches, rock garden, etc.) for Resident Discussion
- 8.6 Select Clean Up Day for Spring

9. ADJOURNMENT

TOWN OF YARROW POINT TOWN PARK BOARD SPECIAL MEETING

December 11, 2023 7:00 p.m.

The Town Park Board of the Town of Yarrow Point, Washington met in special session on Monday, December 11, 2023, at 7:01 p.m. in the Council Chambers of Town Hall.

PARK BOARD PRESENT: Chair Krista Fleming, Park Board Members, Dicker Cahill, Carolyn Whittlesey, and Robert Afzal.

STAFF PRESENT: Deputy Clerk Austen Wilcox

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Fleming called the Park Board meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

3. ROLL CALL

4. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

<u>MOTION:</u> Motion by Park Board Member Cahill, seconded by Park Board Member Afzal to approve the agenda as presented.

VOTE: 4 for, 0 against. Motion carried.

5. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES:

<u>MOTION:</u> Motion by Park Board Member Cahill, seconded by Park Board Member Whittlesey to approve the October 24, 2023, regular minutes as presented.

VOTE: 4 for, 0 against. Motion carried.

6. STAFF REPORTS

7. APPEARENCES/PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

8. REGULAR BUSINESS

8.1 - Budget Update

Chair Fleming shared the Park Board's budget:

- Open spaces construction project \$150k
- Community projects const: \$30k
- Open space maintenance: \$10k

8.2 - Retirement and new Park Board Member Replacements

The two new Park Board members starting in January 2024 are residents Amy Pellegrini and Nancy Daltas. They will be confirmed by Mayor Harris at the December 12 regular Council meeting.

8.3 – Tree City USA Update

Chair Fleming discussed a tree that was planted in Sally's Alley as part of the Town's annual Tree City Application. Deputy Clerk Wilcox noted that the application was submitted and that the Park Board's public cleanup day in April assisted with the fulfillment of the application.

Chair Fleming called a 10-minute recess at 7:15 p.m. to allow staff to call into the meeting.

Chair Fleming reopened the meeting at 7:25 p.m.

9. EXECUTIVE SESSION (30 minutes)

Executive Session with Town Attorney (Pursuant to RCW 42.30.110.(1)(i), the Council will recess into executive session to discuss with legal counsel representing the agency matters relating to agency enforcement actions, or to discuss with legal counsel representing the agency litigation or potential litigation to which the agency, the governing body, or a member acting in an official capacity is, or is likely to become, a party, when public knowledge regarding the discussion is likely to result in an adverse legal or financial consequence to the agency.

Chair Fleming called the executive session to order at 7:25 pm announcing the reopening of the regular meeting to be in 45-minutes at 8:10 pm. No action to be taken.

Chair Fleming reopened the regular meeting at 8:05 pm stating that the executive session would continue an additional 20-minutes until 8:25 pm.

Chair Fleming re-opened the regular meeting at 8:25 pm.

10. ADJOURNMENT:

Motion by Park Board Member Cahill, seconded by Park Board Member Whittlesey to adjourn the meeting at 8:25 p.m. All voted in favor. Motion carried. VOTE: 4 for, 0 against. Motion carried.

	Chair, Krista Fleming
Attest: Austen Wilcox, Deputy Clerk	