Menu Close

Planning Commision


The Planning Commission's mission is to serve as advisor to the Town Council in the review, recommendation, and development of Town land-use and policy issues. To accomplish this, the Planning Commission reviews current land-use issues facing the Town, the region, and the nation and then  develops and/or reviews land-use and zoning ordinances in response to those issues. After holding public hearings to review these draft ordinances with citizens of the Town and obtain their comments on the proposed legislation, the Planning Commission forwards their draft and recommendation for action to the Town Council for discussion and possible adoption.

2024 Planning Commission Work Plan



Regular Planning Commission meetings are held at 7:00 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month at the Town Hall. Agendas for regular Planning Commission meetings are posted at Town Hall at least three days before the meeting. Special Planning Commission meetings may be held from time to time as issues warrant. Notices and agendas for special Commission meetings are open to the public. Citizens are encouraged to appear at meetings and speak to members of the Planning Commission directly about issues of concern to them. The Planning Commission in Yarrow Point also reviews applications for subdivision, short subdivision, and boundary-line adjustments to determine compliance with the Town's existing zoning and land-use ordinances. When satisfied that an application complies, the Planning Commission forwards the application with their recommendation for action to the Town Council for discussion and final action. The Chairperson of the Planning Commission presides over Commission meetings.

The Planning Commission of the Town of Yarrow Point is an advisory body to the Council on land-use issues. It consists of five resident Commissioners appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council. Each Commissioner serves a six-year term and is eligible for re-appointment without term limits.

Yarrow Point's Current Planning Commissioners are:
Carl Hellings, Chair Dec 31, 2025
Lee Sims Dec 31, 2025
David Feller Dec 31, 2027
Chuck Hirsch Dec 31, 2028
Jeffrey Shiu Dec 31, 2028